Pakistan Awami Tehreek to hold countrywide protests on June 17: Core Committee

Lahore, May 31, 2021 (PPI-OT):The Core Committee of Pakistan Awami Tehreek has decided to hold protests throughout the country on June 17 on the lack of justice in the Model Town case and stopping the impartial JIT from carrying out their investigation into the tragedy. This important decision was taken in a meeting presided over by Khurram Nawaz Gandapur, Convener of the Committee.

Speaking on the occasion, he said that no development has taken place by way of the provision of justice even during the three years of the present government. He said that the subordinate courts have not implemented the instructions given by the Supreme Court of Pakistan for the provision of prompt justice. He said that the fake cases registered by the PMLN government against the PAT workers are still intact, adding that the police officers involved in the massacre of the innocent Pakistanis have also not been made to step down from their positions.

The Core Committee decided that the AJK chapter of PAT will take active part in the general elections for the Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly. It said that the party will field candidates in every constituency. The Committee lauded the PAT chapters across the country for expressing their complete solidarity with the Palestinian brothers and sisters.

A committee was set up under the chairmanship of Khurram Nawaz Gandapur to prepare the working plan of Pakistan Awami Tehreek. Fateha was offered for the departed soul of Mian Rehman Maqbool’s father. The meeting also decided to expand its membership and also endorsed the nomination of Naseer Khan Jadoon from Hazara zone as member of the Core Committee.

Those who attended the Core Committee meeting included Qazi Zahid Hussain, Qazi Shafique, Arif Chaudhry, Raja Zahid Mahmood, Mian Zahid Islam, Basharat Aziz Jaspal, Noorullah Siddiqui, Mian Noor Ahmad Sahoo, Ibrar Raza Advocate, Dr Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, Mian Rehan Maqbool, Khalid Mahmood Durrani, Rao Kamran Mahmood, Mian Kashif Mahmood, Syed Zafar Iqbal, Sardar Muhammad Ijaz Saddozai, Naseer Khan Jadoon, Malik Toquir Awan, and Rao Arif Rizvi.

For more information, contact:
Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT)
365-M, Model Town,
Lahore, Pakistan
Tel: +92-42-111-140-140
Email: info@pat.com.pk
Website: www.pat.com.pk